Source: ADSC 10/17/2019 12:00:00 AM Share this:

Team Abu Dhabi is ready to turn on the magic in the nation’s capital next month after being announced as the newest team of the Abu Dhabi T10.

In what has been kept a closely guarded secret, organisers today confirmed Team Abu Dhabi will complete the incredible line-up of competitors set to explode onto the scene from 15-24 November at Zayed Cricket Stadium. Backed by Abu Dhabi Sports Council, the team was unveiled at a glittering ceremony in Abu Dhabi which was attended by Abu Dhabi government representatives and cricketing dignitaries from around the world.

Headlining Team Abu Dhabi will be World Cup-winner Moeen Ali, who will be joined in the team by a host of world-class talent including Pakistani fast-paced sensation Mohammed Amir, English young gun Harry Gurney, Sri Lanka’s left-handed wicketkeeper-batsman Niroshan Dickwella, New Zealand’s Corey Anderson and UAE duo Rameez Shahzad and Rohan Mustafa. Former England coach Trevor Bayliss will assume coaching duties along with UAE Head Coach Dougie Brown and James ‘Fozzy’ Foster.

“Welcoming Team Abu Dhabi as the final piece of the Abu Dhabi T10 puzzle is an incredibly thrilling moment for all of us,” said His Excellency Aref Al Awani, General Secretary of Abu Dhabi Sports Council. “There is a huge feeling of anticipation around this tournament and the inclusion of Team Abu Dhabi adds a natural and exciting rooting interest for local fans to rally around. They are a team filled with an exceptional mix of player and coaching talent, and we know T10 fans are going to love seeing them in action.”

Team Abu Dhabi have been drawn into the tournament’s Group B and will square off against last year’s champions, Northern Warriors, as well as the Maratha Arabians and Team Qalandars in what will be a tightly contested group brimming with big-match players.

Trevor Bayliss, Head Coach of Team Abu Dhabi, said: “It is a pleasure to be able to work with this fresh and motivated team in this unique format of cricket. T10 cricket is big, and it’s bold, but it also requires a certain style of player and capability. It tests players’ tactical talent and skills at the very highest level. I’m very much looking forward to working closely with the players to achieve some great results and hopefully claim the Abu Dhabi T10 title for the UAE.”

Moving to the nation’s capital for the next five years, the tournament will see the likes of England’s ICC World Cup-winning captain Eoin Morgan alongside Australian star Shane Watson, flamboyant West Indian Andre Russell, Sri Lankan ‘slinger’ Lasith Malinga and Darren Sammy, all in action across 10 unforgettable days.

Moeen Ali, Team Abu Dhabi’s Icon Player, says he can’t wait for the tournament to get underway.

“It’s an impressive list of some of the best T10 players on show in Abu Dhabi,” said Ali. “Fans are going to be treated to something quite special, there’s no doubt about it. I would say there’s extra incentive playing for Team Abu Dhabi to show the world what Abu Dhabi T10 cricket is all about.”

The tournament is being showcased in Abu Dhabi for the first time following a strategic government partnership between the Department of Culture and Tourism, the Abu Dhabi Sports Council and Abu Dhabi Cricket. Team Abu Dhabi jerseys will proudly sport the logos of official sponsors Etihad Airways and Ahalia Hospital who have committed to supporting the first official franchise team ever to represent Abu Dhabi.

Tickets start from the special price of AED 10, and will allow spectators to watch up to three matches a day. To book tickets, or to receive hospitality information, please visit: